Exenatide Extended-Release (Bydureon BCise): A Reference Page With Two Deliberate Gaps
Most pages in this pillar quote a half-life and a bioavailability figure from the label. This one cannot, because the Bydureon BCise prescribing information states neither for the extended-release product. This page publishes what the label does state — a roughly ten-week approach to steady state, and a roughly ten-week washout — and is explicit about what it is leaving out and why. AstraZeneca discontinued Bydureon BCise in the United States on 28 October 2024, a business decision rather than a safety one, so the label quoted here is the last approved one and DailyMed no longer lists a current version. Reference material, not clinical guidance.
· Educational content — not medically reviewed
The short answer
An exenatide extended-release half-life is not stated in the FDA-approved Bydureon BCise prescribing information, and neither is an absolute bioavailability, so this page publishes neither. What Section 12.3, via DailyMed, does state: plasma exenatide rises gradually to approximately Week 10 of once-weekly administration, where steady state is reached, and falls below the minimal quantifiable concentration of 20 pg/mL roughly 10 weeks after discontinuation. Figures circulating elsewhere are modelling assumptions, not labeled values.

Key takeaways
- The Bydureon BCise prescribing information (Section 12.3, via DailyMed, accessed 1 September 2026) states that following initiation of once-weekly administration, a gradual increase in plasma exenatide concentration is observed up to approximately Week 10.
- At that point mean plasma exenatide concentrations of approximately 208 pg/mL were maintained over weekly dosing intervals, indicating that steady state was achieved.
- The label states that approximately 10 weeks after discontinuation, plasma exenatide concentrations generally fall below the minimal quantifiable concentration of 20 pg/mL.
- It also gives a mean apparent clearance of exenatide of 9.1 L/hour, independent of dose.
- NO absolute bioavailability and NO single elimination half-life for the extended-release product appear in the label, so neither is published here. Figures circulating elsewhere are modelling assumptions, not labeled values.
Steady state at approximately Week 10
The label describes a gradual increase in plasma exenatide concentration up to approximately Week 10 following initiation of once-weekly administration, at which point concentrations of approximately 208 pg/mL were maintained (accessed 1 September 2026).
Washout also on a ten-week scale
Approximately 10 weeks after discontinuation, plasma exenatide concentrations generally fall below the minimal quantifiable concentration of 20 pg/mL, according to Section 12.3. Both directions are slow.
No labeled half-life for the ER product
The prescribing information does not state a single elimination half-life for the extended-release formulation. This page therefore does not publish one, and any figure you find elsewhere should be treated as somebody's model rather than a labeled fact.
No labeled absolute bioavailability
The label likewise does not state an absolute bioavailability for the extended-release product. It is omitted here for the same reason. An omission with an explanation is more useful than a confident number with no source.
What this page is, and what it is not
This is a reference page, and it is the one page in this pillar defined as much by what it leaves out as by what it contains.
It is not medical advice. It has not been written or reviewed by a clinician, and it makes no recommendation about whether any medication is appropriate for anybody. It does not tell you how much to take, when to take it, or when to change anything.
What makes it unusual is that the sourcing rule this pillar runs on — publish a number only if a primary label states it — bites here in a way it does not elsewhere. Two of the figures a reader arrives looking for are simply not in the document, and the honest response is to say so rather than to fill the gap from a secondary source.
GLP-1 Tracker visualizes your estimated medication level over time.
The primary source, and the two things it does not say
All figures on this page come from one document: BYDUREON BCISE (exenatide) extended-release injectable suspension, for subcutaneous use — the United States Prescribing Information approved by the FDA, read on DailyMed accessed 1 September 2026. The label records an Initial U.S. Approval of 2005.
Section 12.3 describes the extended-release product's behaviour in terms of concentration over time, clearance and volume of distribution. It does not state an absolute bioavailability for the product, and it does not state a single elimination half-life for it.
Those absences are not an oversight in the label. They follow from what the product is, which the next section explains. Because they are absences, this page carries no half-life figure and no bioavailability figure — not a range, not an approximation, not a value borrowed from a different exenatide product.
Why a depot formulation resists a single half-life
Exenatide extended-release is not a solution of drug injected and then cleared. It is a formulation designed to release drug slowly from a depot at the injection site over an extended period.
That creates two different processes happening on very different timescales: the release of drug from the depot, and the clearance of drug once it has reached the circulation. A single number labelled "half-life" cannot describe both, and which one it would describe is ambiguous.
What governs the observed concentration curve for a product like this is the slower process — release — rather than the intrinsic clearance of the molecule. This is why the label characterises the product by how concentrations behave over weeks rather than by a half-life, and it is why a figure invented to make the product fit a half-life-shaped field in a database is a modelling decision rather than a fact about the drug.
Software that draws a concentration curve has to supply such a figure, and an apparent value chosen to make a curve behave can be a defensible engineering choice inside a chart. It is not a labeled value, so none appears on this page.
What the label does state: ten weeks up, ten weeks down
Section 12.3 states that following initiation of once-weekly administration of the product, a gradual increase in plasma exenatide concentration is observed up to approximately Week 10, with mean plasma exenatide concentrations of approximately 208 pg/mL maintained over weekly dosing intervals, indicating that steady state was achieved.
It further states that approximately 10 weeks after discontinuation of therapy, plasma exenatide concentrations generally fall below the minimal quantifiable concentration of 20 pg/mL.
Taken together those two statements are more informative than a half-life would be. They say that this product takes roughly ten weeks to reach a stable level and roughly ten weeks to clear afterwards — a much longer timescale in both directions than any other medication covered in this pillar.
The label also gives a mean apparent clearance of exenatide of 9.1 L/hour, independent of dose, and reports a mean apparent volume of distribution following subcutaneous administration of a single dose of the immediate-release product of 28.3 L, expected to remain unchanged for the extended-release product.
What a ten-week timescale means for a record
For somebody keeping a personal record, this is the page's practical content.
A medication that takes around ten weeks to reach steady state is one where early weeks are genuinely not representative of later ones, and where a record covering only the first month describes a period during which levels were still climbing. The same applies in reverse after stopping.
That is a strong argument for keeping a longer record rather than a more detailed one. Fine-grained notes about a single week tell you very little about a product operating on this timescale; a continuous, boring record spanning months tells you and your clinician a great deal more.
None of that is a reason to draw your own conclusions from your record. It is a reason to have one worth showing to somebody qualified to interpret it.
Why an omission is better than a borrowed number
It would be easy to fill the two gaps on this page. Figures for exenatide's half-life circulate widely, and a page that quoted one would look more complete and would probably rank better for it.
The reason not to is that the figures available describe different things. Some describe the immediate-release product, a genuinely different formulation. Some are apparent values back-calculated from the extended-release concentration curve, which is a model output rather than a measurement. Presenting either as "the half-life of exenatide extended-release", attributed to an FDA label that does not contain it, would be a fabricated citation.
On a health page a fabricated citation is worse than a gap, because a gap is visible and a false attribution is not. So the gap stays, labelled as a gap, with an explanation of what is missing and why.
What a tracking app can legitimately record
GLP-1 Tracker records what you enter: the date of each dose you log, the injection site you noted, weight and BMI entries added over time, meals captured through the photo scan with calories, protein and fiber estimated, and notes about how a week went.
For a product operating on a ten-week timescale, the value of that is continuity rather than precision. What is worth having is a record that spans long enough to show the period the label describes, which memory reliably fails to reconstruct.
What the app does not do is decide anything. It does not evaluate whether your routine is working, it does not flag anything as clinically significant, and it does not generate schedules.
The medication-level estimate, and why it is weakest here
GLP-1 Tracker includes an educational medication-level view that draws a curve from logged doses and a published half-life figure.
For this medication that curve rests on an assumption the label does not supply, because the label states no half-life for the extended-release product. Whatever the chart draws for it is therefore a modelled approximation of a depot-release process, not a rendering of a labeled value.
That makes it the weakest illustration in the app, and it is worth saying plainly rather than leaving a reader to assume every curve has equal standing. It remains useful for one thing only: conveying that this product's timescale is long. It is not a measurement, not a blood level, and not a clinical reading, and it should never influence a dose.
Frequently asked questions
What is the half-life of exenatide extended-release?
The FDA-approved Bydureon BCise prescribing information does not state a single elimination half-life for the extended-release product, so this page does not publish one. The label instead characterises the product by concentration over time: a gradual increase up to approximately Week 10, and a fall below the minimal quantifiable concentration approximately 10 weeks after discontinuation (Section 12.3, accessed 1 September 2026).
Why does the label not give a half-life?
Because the product releases drug slowly from a depot at the injection site, which means two processes on different timescales — release from the depot, and clearance from the circulation. A single half-life figure cannot describe both, and the observed curve is governed by the slower one. The label therefore describes behaviour over weeks rather than assigning a half-life.
What is the bioavailability of Bydureon BCise?
The label does not state an absolute bioavailability for the extended-release product, so no figure is published here. This pillar publishes a number only when a primary label states it; where a label is silent, the omission is reported rather than filled from a secondary source.
How long does it take to reach steady state?
The label states that following initiation of once-weekly administration a gradual increase in plasma exenatide concentration is observed up to approximately Week 10, with mean concentrations of approximately 208 pg/mL maintained over weekly dosing intervals, indicating steady state was achieved. That is a considerably longer approach than any other medication covered in this pillar.
How long does it take to clear after stopping?
The label states that approximately 10 weeks after discontinuation of therapy, plasma exenatide concentrations generally fall below the minimal quantifiable concentration of 20 pg/mL (Section 12.3, accessed 1 September 2026). What that means for any individual situation is a question for a prescriber, not for a reference page.
Has this page been reviewed by a doctor?
No. This is a reference page assembled from publicly available FDA-approved labeling, with the document, section and access date printed beside each figure so you can verify any of it yourself. It has not been written or reviewed by a clinician, it is not medical advice, and it is not a substitute for professional care.
A long timescale needs a long record
GLP-1 Tracker keeps the doses you logged, the sites you used, your weight trend and your meals in one continuous timeline, so months of history are available rather than remembered. Educational and organizational only — never a substitute for your provider.
Reading on a desktop? Scan to open it on your iPhone.apps.apple.com/app/id6765520636
This page is for general education only and is not medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. GLP-1 Tracker is a tracking tool, not a medical device. Always consult your healthcare provider about your medication, dosing and health decisions. Brand names are trademarks of their respective owners and are not affiliated with this app.